The Central Archaeological Council is the highest advisory body on all matters pertaining to the protection of ancient monuments, archaeological sites and sites of exceptional historical or legendary importance up to 1830. The CAC meets once or in some cases twice a week.

The Central Archaeological Council

a) Recommends the Minister on:

-  the principles governing the protection of the cultural heritage
-  the annual programs of expropriations or direct purchases, excavations, restorations, conservation as well as other works on monuments.

b) Gives advisory opinion on issues relating to:

-  monuments and sites located within more than one  municipality, at sea or in rivers and lakes.
-  the protection of monuments entered on the World Heritage List, as well as other monuments, and archaeological  or historical sites of outstanding importance.
-  interventions of major importance to monuments and sites
-  the designation and establishment of archaeological and historical sites and protection zones in accordance with the provision of the law.
-  the compulsory expropriation or direct purchase or exchange of immovable monuments for reasons relating to the protection of the cultural heritage.
-  the removal of immovable monuments or a part thereof or the detachment of elements from monuments of outstanding importance
-  the issuance of a permit for demolition in accordance with the provisions of article 6 par. 10
-  the classification of categories of artifacts 
-  the export of artifacts
-  the loan and the exchange of artifacts belonging to the sate
-  the recognition of collectors and the acquisition of collections by the state.
-  the loan, temporary export, exchange and transfer of antiquities forming part of museum collections 
-  any other important issues referred to them by the Minister of Culture.


The CAC is composed of seventeen (17) members:

- The Secretary General of the Ministry of Culture, as President.

- The Legal Counselor of the State to the Minister of Culture, who can be represented by another Legal Counselor or Associate Judge at the office of the Legal Counselor to the Ministry of Culture.

- The Director-General of Antiquities and Director-General of Restoration of Monuments and Technical Works of the Ministry of Culture, who can be represented by persons having similar qualifications.

-  Five archaeologists, heads of regional or special regional services of the Ministry of Culture at the level of Directorate, with specification relating to the competence of the CAC, who can be replaced by persons having similar qualifications.

- Seven Professors or Associate professors of university-level institutions, research associates of a comparable level at recognized research institutions or other scientists of recognized authority, whether employees or not of the Ministry of Culture, with at least ten years professional and scientific experience following the acquisition of a doctorate (PhD) in archaeology, architecture, conservation of antiquities, art history, geology, science and technology of materials, structural engineering and soil-mechanics or other sciences related to the protection of ancient monuments and sites, who can be replaced by persons having similar qualifications.

- One architect, employee of the Ministry of Environment, Town planning and Public Works, who can be replaced by an employee with the same qualifications appointed by the Minister of Environment, Town Planning and Public works. 




This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

T: (+30) 210 80 10 600


More Demos
Template by JoomlaShine